Day 1 | Vegan For A Week

day1wordpress

Before I start this post, I’d like to thank everyone who supported my last post and gave it a like – it’s such a small thing but it means a lot since I haven’t shared this blog on any social media platforms yet! Anyway, I hope you enjoy this one!

I woke up this morning feeling really positive and excited to start the day and try my new vegan goodies – honestly, breakfast doesn’t excite me that much unless it’s a veggie English Breakfast or if my boyfriend has a box of Krave in his cupboard – so I jumped out of bed (not literally, I’m not that energetic) and got going.

Breakfast:

An Alpro Soya Dark Chocolate Yoghurt

4 Multigrain Crackers

4 Large Strawberries

This filled me up for approximately an hour or two. I couldn’t wait for lunch and soon realised my mistake. I was so used to having carbs (normally toast or cereal) for breakfast – which I could still have but wanted to spice things up today – and so, I guess my body just didn’t have the energy it was used to having inside of it because I wasn’t full up enough, and to be honest, this really wasn’t a big breakfast. Although, I really enjoyed it!

Lunch:

A cup of brown rice cooked in soy sauce

Half a Courgette

Half a Red Pepper

4 Mushrooms

4 Quorn Vegan Chicken Nuggets

I figured that because I had such a small breakfast, it was acceptable that I’d accidentally made way too much rice for my lunch. But it tasted sooo yummy and the soy sauce was definitely one of my better ideas. Let’s change the subject real quick though, Quorn Vegan Chicken Nuggets are honestly heavenly. The only huge difference between these and the vegetarian nuggets Quorn make is the coating. The vegan version is coated in breadcrumbs, whereas the veggie ones are coated in batter. I actually prefer the vegan ones now!

Then it was time for a snack since I was busy writing an essay and needed some brain food. I had a cup of tea made with almond milk, which I didn’t expect to be so sweet so I think will take a while to get used to, and a banana. Then I hit a point at about 3/4pm where my body just felt drained and I was pretty dizzy. So, I went to Sainsbury’s and bought a Trek Cocoa Chaos Wholefood Energy Bar in hope that I would gain some energy. I only ended up eating half because it was so filling! I’ll eat the rest tomorrow in the morning sometime so I’m set for the day.

Dinner

Tofu & Mushroom Roll (like a sausage roll)

1 Avocado

My dinner was so simple yet so good. Honestly, the people who created that tofu & mushroom roll nailed it. I was a happy little bunny. And now, I’m actually really full and content!

So overall, I had a pretty good day. I know now to make sure I’m full up with not only food but protein and have a decent amount of carbs. I’m not saying that people have to run on carbs, but when you eat as many carbs as I like to, it’s a bit of a shock to the system when you have less than half your normal amount the very next day. Either way, I still feel good and glad that I got through the day being 100% vegan!

x

2 thoughts on “Day 1 | Vegan For A Week

Leave a Reply

